Print

Surveillance

What is IMPACT?

IMPACT, Canada’s Immunization Monitoring Program ACTive, is a paediatric hospital-based national active surveillance network for adverse events following immunization, vaccine failures and selected infectious diseases that are, or will be, vaccine preventable.

IMPACT is administered by the Canadian Paediatric Society with funding from the Centre for Immunization and Respiratory Infectious Diseases at the Public Health Agency of Canada.  Additional surveillance for rotavirus and invasive meningococcal disease is funded separately.

How IMPACT works

The paediatric national hospital-based surveillance network involves 12 Canadian centres, which represent about 90% of all tertiary care pediatric beds in Canada.

Each IMPACT centre has a designated nurse monitor, who is supervised by a volunteer physician who specializes in pediatrics and/or infectious diseases. Many other personnel in each center assist with case finding include infection control staff, unit nurses and laboratory and medical records personnel.

Cases of adverse events following immunization reported by the IMPACT centres reflect “temporal” associations, meaning events are reported that occur after a vaccine but these events may be coincidental. Reporting of these events does not mean they are caused by the vaccine.

IMPACT nurse monitors forward reports of adverse events following immunization to local public health for follow up and to the Canadian Adverse Event Following Immunization Surveillance System of the Public Health Agency of Canada. Nurse monitors also respond to requests for more information on selected cases that are reviewed by the Advisory Committee on Causality Assessment.  This committee reviews the most severe adverse events and decides whether or not they could have been caused by the vaccine.

IMPACT centres

The IMPACT data centre is located in Vancouver, B.C. The 12 IMPACT centres are:

  • Alberta Children's Hospital, Calgary, Alta.
  • B.C. Children’s Hospital, Vancouver, B.C.
  • Le Centre Mère-Enfant de Québec City, Que.
  • Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario, Ottawa, Ont.
  • CHU-Sainte-Justine, Montreal, Que.
  • IWK Health Centre, Halifax, N.S.
  • Eastern Health Janeway Child Health and Rehabilitation Centre, St. John’s, Nfld.
  • The Montreal Children’s Hospital, Montreal, Que.
  • Royal University Hospital, Saskatoon, Sask.
  • Stollery Children's Hospital, Edmonton, Alta.
  • The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Ont.
  • Children’s Hospital, Winnipeg, Man.

Why do IMPACT surveillance?

IMPACT monitors vaccine safety and the pattern of diseases that are currently or potentially vaccine-preventable in children. IMPACT complements existing national surveillance systems, supports public health action, informs policy dialogue with Federal, Provincial, Territorial and other national stakeholders, and assists in meeting Canada’s international commitments for vaccine safety monitoring and disease reporting. 

IMPACT surveillance is designed to detect any unexpected or unusual occurrences that result in hospitalization after vaccines are given and provide information on how well Canadian immunization programs work.  It is ideally positioned to monitor any changes in event rates, new, signals of concern and emerging diseases.

Gathering information on cases of selected infections - such as pertussis (whooping cough), the influenza virus, rotavirus, varicella and zoster virus (chickenpox and shingles), and invasive infections caused by Haemophilus influenzae, Neisseria meningitidis, and Streptococcus pneumoniae - helps determine the severity of these infections and measures the benefits of new vaccines.

For more information on IMPACT please see the extensive list of peer-reviewed publications and scientific presentations:


Current IMPACT newsletter

Last updated: Nov 13 2014

Imprimer

La Surveillance

Qu’est-ce qu’IMPACT?

Le Programme canadien de surveillance active de l’immunisation, ou IMPACT, est un réseau national de surveillance des effets secondaires suivant l’immunisation, des échecs vaccinaux et de certaines maladies infectieuses qui sont ou deviendront évitables par la vaccination. Ce réseau est déployé dans des hôpitaux pédiatriques.

IMPACT est administré par la Société canadienne de pédiatrie grâce au financement du Centre de l’immunisation et des maladies respiratoires infectieuses de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada. La surveillance des infections à rotavirus et de la méningococcie invasive est financée séparément.

Le fonctionnement d’IMPACT

Le réseau de surveillance national déployé dans des hôpitaux pédiatriques compte sur la participation de 12 centres canadiens, qui représentent environ 90 % de tous les lits pédiatriques de soins tertiaires au Canada.

Chaque centre d’IMPACT dispose d’une infirmière contrôleuse désignée, supervisée par un médecin bénévole spécialisé en pédiatrie ou en infectiologie. De nombreux autres membres du personnel de chaque centre participent à la collecte des cas, y compris le personnel de contrôle des infections, les infirmières des unités, le personnel de laboratoire et le personnel responsable des dossiers médicaux.

Les cas d’effets secondaires suivant l’immunisation déclarés par les centres d’IMPACT sont le reflet d’associations « temporelles », c’est-à-dire que les cas signalés se produisent après l’administration d’un vaccin, mais peut-être simplement par coïncidence. Le fait de les déclarer ne signifie pas qu’ils sont causés par le vaccin.

Les infirmières contrôleuses d’IMPACT transmettent les déclarations d’effets secondaires suivant l’immunisation au service de santé publique locale en vue du suivi et au Système canadien de surveillance des effets secondaires suivant l’immunisation de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Elles répondent également aux demandes d’information sur des cas particuliers qu’examine le Comité consultatif sur l’évaluation de la causalité. Ce comité examine les effets secondaires les plus graves et détermine s’ils peuvent ou non avoir été causés par le vaccin.

Centres d’IMPACT

Le centre de données d’IMPACT se trouve à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Les 12 centres d’IMPACT sont :

  • Alberta Children’s Hospital, Calgary (Alberta)
  • B.C. Children’s Hospital, Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
  • Centre Mère-Enfant de Québec (Québec)
  • Centre hospitalier pour enfants de l’est de l’Ontario, Ottawa (Ontario)
  • CHU Sainte-Justine, Montréal (Québec)
  • IWK Health Centre, Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)
  • Eastern Health Janeway Child Health and Rehabilitation Centre, St. John’s (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)
  • L’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants, Montréal (Québec)
  • Royal University Hospital, Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)
  • Stollery Children’s Hospital, Edmonton (Alberta)
  • The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto (Ontario)
  • Children’s Hospital, Winnipeg (Manitoba)

Pourquoi procéder à la surveillance de la vaccination?

IMPACT surveille l’innocuité des vaccins et le schéma des maladies qui sont ou deviendront des maladies évitables par un vaccin. IMPACT complète les systèmes nationaux de surveillance en place, appuie les mesures de santé publique, étaye les dialogues sur les politiques avec les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux et d’autres intervenants nationaux et contribue au respect des engagements internationaux du Canada en matière de surveillance de l’innocuité vaccinale et de déclaration des maladies.

La surveillance d’IMPACT vise à déceler toute occurrence inattendue ou inhabituelle qui entraîne une hospitalisation après l’administration d’un vaccin et fournit de l’information sur la qualité du fonctionnement des programmes canadiens de vaccination. Il est en position idéale pour surveiller tout changement à la fréquence des cas, les nouveaux signaux inquiétants et les maladies émergentes.

Le fait de colliger de l’information sur des cas d’infections précises, telles que la coqueluche, le virus de l’influenza, le rotavirus, le virus varicelle-zona et les infections invasives causées par l’Haemophilus influenzae, le Neisseria meningitidis et le Streptococcus pneumoniae, contribue à déterminer la gravité de ces infections et à mesurer les avantages des nouveaux vaccins.

Pour en savoir plus sur IMPACT, vous pouvez consulter la liste complète des publications révisées par des pairs et des présentations scientifiques.


Bulletin d’IMPACT le plus récent

Mise à jour : le 28 avril 2016