Skip to Content
Canadian Paediatric Society

Noni MacDonald Award

Established in 2004, the Noni MacDonald Award is given annually in honour of the founding editor of Paediatrics & Child Health, the peer-reviewed journal of the Canadian Paediatric Society. It recognizes an author(s) whose article, published in the journal during the nomination year, has positively affected paediatrics, such as by raising awareness of an issue, presenting new scientific research, or instigating or potentially instigating change.



Current recipient(s): Dr. Jeff Brubacher et al

Dr. Jeff Brubacher et al

The Noni MacDonald Award recognizes an article in Paediatrics & Child Health that has positively affected paediatric medicine. This year’s prize goes to the authors of an article published in the May 2016 issue of the journal. Titled “The impact of child safety restraint legislation on child injuries in police-reported motor vehicle collisions in British Columbia: An interrupted time series analysis”, it evaluates the effectiveness of 2008 legislation enforcing child safety seat regulations in that province.  Lead author, Dr. Jeff Brubacher (Vancouver, B.C.) is a practicing emergency physician at Vancouver General Hospital and a clinical toxicologist with the B.C. Drug and Poison Information Centre. He is also an Associate Professor in the University of British Columbia’s Department of Emergency Medicine, and Director of the Emergency Medicine Research Program at the Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute. Dr. Brubacher’s research focuses on road safety, with a special interest in impaired driving and traffic policy evaluation. He chairs the British Columbia Road Safety Strategy, Research and Data Committee, sits on the City of Vancouver Traffic Safety Advisory group, and was a member of the BC Coroner’s Service Teen Driver Death Review Panel. His co-authors are Ediriweera Desapriya PhD, Shannon Erdelyi MSc and Herbert Chan PhD.

About Dr. Noni MacDonald

Dr. Noni MacDonald was the founding editor of Paediatrics & Child Health. Dr. MacDonald has had a distinguished career in paediatric medicine and is a tireless advocate for the health and well-being of children and youth. She has held several university and hospital appointments, published extensively, garnered generous research support over many years, and contributes her expertise to numerous federal and provincial regulatory bodies.



  • Nominee(s) must have published an article in Paediatrics & Child Health in the previous year.
  • The article published must have contributed to changes in policy or practice that have improved, or have the potential to improve, the health of children and/or youth.
  • A selection panel will rate each nomination on these criteria:
    • significance of contribution,
    • importance of subject or problem,
    • quality of presentation.
  • Nominees need not be CPS members.
  • Members of the following groups are not eligible for the award:
    • Paediatrics & Child Health Editorial Board
    • CPS Board of Directors
    • CPS Awards Committee



  • A letter of support from the nominator clearly describing this contribution using the criteria listed above. Maximum three pages.

Submit your nominations using the Submit Nomination button.



Past recipients


Evelyne Trottier, MD, et al


Sherri Lynne Katz MD, et al


Sarah E. Lawrence MD, et al


Kristy Wittmeier PhD and Dr. Brandy Wicklow


Dr. Moshe Ipp and Dr. Anna Taddio


Dr. Ziad Solh and Dr. Kristi Adamo PhD


Dr. Daniel Trefler


Dr. Robert Harrison


Rita Paul Sen-Gupta, Margaret L. de Wit and Dr. David McKeown


Drs. Susan Rvachew and Robert Savage


Dr. Harvey Guyda


Dr. Alice Chan-Yip

Last updated: May 26 2017