Skip to Content
Canadian Paediatric Society

Honorary Membership

Honorary Membership recognizes individuals who support the mission of the CPS.

Recipients receive complimentary CPS honorary membership (effective the following membership year), complimentary registration to the CPS Annual Conference for life, as well as all other membership benefits enjoyed by CPS associate members.

The award is presented during the CPS Annual Conference.

Current recipient(s): Dr. Ian Gemmill

Dr. Ian Gemmill

For outstanding leadership, efforts and support in addressing and raising awareness about immunization, Dr. Ian Gemmill receives Honorary Membership in the CPS. Dr. Gemmill is an Associate Professor in the Departments of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences at Queen’s University and is the former Medical Officer of Health for Kingston, Frontenac and Lennox & Addington Public Health (1997-2017). With almost 37 years of experience in Ontario’s public health system, he is a leader in building public confidence in vaccine efficacy and safety.

Dr Gemmill has served on a number of provincial, national and international committees on communicable diseases and immunisation. As co-chair and then chair of the Education Program for Immunization Competencies (EPIC), he worked collaboratively with professional experts to continuously enhance and improve the program. Dr. Gemmill served as chair of Ontario’s Provincial Infectious Diseases Advisory Committee on Immunisation, from its inception in 2005 to 2014 and was a member of the National Advisory Committee on Immunisation (NACI) for over 14 years and its chair from 2014 to 2017.


  • Nominees are individuals who may not normally be eligible for membership, but who have dedicated their time to caring and advocating for children and youth. Candidates must be Canadian residents but need not be CPS members.
  • The Membership Subcommittee will judge candidates based on their contributions to advancing the health of children and youth by nurturing excellence in health care, advocacy, education and research.

Nominations will be held for two consecutive years but must be formally resubmitted following the two year period to be reconsidered. The Membership Subcommittee reserves the right to limit the number of honorary memberships granted each year.

Current voting members of the CPS Board of Directors and Membership Subcommittee members are not eligible.


Submissions must include:

  • Letters from both the nominator and seconder, both of whom are CPS members, describing how the nominee meets the above criteria.
  • An updated curriculum vitae for the candidate.

Submit your nominations using the Submit Nomination button.

Past recipients


Ms. Janet Austin


Dr. Leslie Rourke


The Honorable Margaret McCain


Mr. Ken Dryden


Mr. Sid Stevens


Mr. Raffi Cavoukian


The Honourable Michael Kirby


The Honourable Steven L. Point, Lieutenant Governor of British Columbia


Father Emmett Johns


Senator Landon Pearson


William Cochrane, MD

Last updated: May 23 2018