Skip to Content
Canadian Paediatric Society

Emerging Leader in Neonatology Award

The Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Section has established the Emerging Leader in Neonatology Award in 2012 to recognize the achievements or initiatives of neonatologists early in their professional career.

The award is presented during the CPS Annual Conference and the recipient receives a commemorative award at a dinner in their honour.

Awarded every other year, the next award will be presented in 2018.


Current recipient(s): Dr. Paige Terrien Church

Dr. Paige Terrien Church

Dr. Paige Terrien Church (Toronto, Ont.) receives the Emerging Leader in Neonatology Award for extraordinary contributions to neonatal follow-up, exemplary teaching and powerful advocacy on behalf of preterm babies and their families. Her clinical work with Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre, one of the busiest sites in Canada for neonatal follow-up, explores new models of care and ways of assessing infants born preterm or with serious conditions. Dr. Church combined training in developmental-behavioural paediatrics with neonatology early on, and today is one of only two paediatricians to have been awarded dual certification in neonatal-perinatal medicine and developmental-behavioural paediatrics by the American Board of Paediatrics. As a teacher she is widely recognized and sought after, receiving University of Toronto teaching awards in 2011 and 2015. Extensive research into neonatal follow-up has led her to characterize a ‘preterm behavioural phenotype’ that is increasingly being used to observe and describe preterm infants. This descriptor, which Dr. Church calls ‘the perfect storm’, is a constellation of minor morbidities that synergistically can be disabling. She expanded her clinic’s capacity to manage such issues by bringing a behavioural analyst on staff – the first neonatal follow-up clinic in Canada to do so.


The candidate:

  • Is a CPS member in good standing,
  • Has completed fellowship training within the last 10 years,
  • Holds a hospital staff appointment,
  • Has already achieved, and has demonstrated potential for further achievement, in one or more domains of endeavour: research, education, clinical innovation or administration, and
  • Has contributed to improving the care of neonates and their families in Canada and/or internationally.



Nominations are submitted using the online submission form and include:

  • A nomination letter from a member of the Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Section, describing how long the nominator has known the nominee, in what capacity, and explaining why this nominee stands out. Maximum 3 pages.
  • The nominee’s updated curriculum vitae. Maximum 3 pages.

Submit your nominations using the Submit Nomination button.


Past recipients


Dr. Chloe Joynt


Dr. Patrick McNamara


Dr. Prakesh Shah

Last updated: Jul 12 2017