Skip to Content
Canadian Paediatric Society

Distinguished Neonatologist Award

The Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Section established the Distinguished Neonatologist Award in 1995 to honour recognize sustained contributions to the field of neonatology.  

The award is presented during the CPS Annual Conference and the recipient receives a commemorative award at a dinner in their honour.

Awarded every other year, the next award will be presented in 2019.


Current recipient(s): Dr. Ann L. Jefferies

Dr. Ann L. Jefferies

Dr. Ann L. Jefferies (Toronto, Ont.) receives the ‘Distinguished Neonatologist’ Award for her exceptional contributions the Canadian neonatal-perinatal medicine community – locally, nationally and internationally. An exemplary clinician, she joined the NICU at Mt. Sinai Hospital in 1984, serving terms as director of nurseries and deputy paediatrician-in-chief. Along with delivering meticulous, compassionate care to thousands of newborns and families, Dr. Jefferies has a generous history of sharing clinical skills and knowledge with colleagues and trainees – and of making sure the teams she works with achieve the highest possible levels of practice. As an educator and mentor, she is without peer in Canada. Dr. Jefferies has been involved with the Integrated Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Fellowship training program at the University of Toronto since its inception, and was program director for 5 years. In addition to numerous awards for teaching excellence, she is recognized and celebrated for spearheading current trainee assessment process and content, both as chair of the education subcommittee of the Canadian Neonatal Network and as chair of the specialty committee in neonatal-perinatal medicine at the RCPSC. She guided the transition from subspecialty accreditation without certification to accreditation with certification, with the insight, integrity and collaborative spirit that mark her every endeavour.



The successful candidate is a neonatologist who has sustained exceptional contributions to the field of neonatology, particularly in Canada.

Current section executives are not eligible for nomination and cannot nominate candidates while serving their terms.



  • Two letters of nomination/support from two members of the Neonatal-Perinatal Medicine Section who are not members of the Section’s Executive. The letter should describe the nominee’s national reputation and a history of participation in the Canadian professional scene.
  • A copy of the nominee’s updated curriculum vitae (Maximum 5 pages).

Submit your nominations using the Submit Nomination button.


Past recipients


Dr. Martin Skidmore


Dr. Douglas McMillan


Dr. Reg Sauve


Dr. Molly Seshia


Dr. Shoo Lee


Dr. Saroj Saigal


Dr. Arne Ohlsson


Dr. Alexander Allen


Dr. Eugene Outerbridge


Dr. Graham Chance


Dr. Robert Usher, Dr. Paul Swyer, Dr. Sydney Segal

Last updated: Jul 12 2017