Skip to Content
Canadian Paediatric Society

Distinguished Community Paediatrician Award

The Community Paediatrics Section established the Distinguished Community Paediatrician Award in 1999 to recognize a colleague(s) who has demonstrated a significant contribution to the field of community paediatrics.

The recipient receives a commemorative award at a dinner held by the Community Paediatrics Section in his or her honour during the CPS Annual Conference.

Current recipient(s): Dr. Michelle Gordon

This year’s Distinguished Community Paediatrician is Dr. Michelle Gordon, who has been a consultant paediatrician in Orillia for the past 15 years, known for her expert care in neonatology and her management of many subspecialty disorders in a shared care model with subspecialists at the Hospital for Sick Children. Remarkable is her ability to always put the patient and family first no matter how difficult the case. She consistently goes above and beyond in her discussions with parents and listen to all their needs. Dr. Gordon has been the Chief of Neonatal and Paediatric Medicine for the last 10 years, where she has shaped the policies of both the local Orillia Soldiers Memorial Hospital and the five Level 1 hospitals who use Orillia as their regional resource. Her work locally has been recognized with the 2010 Orillia Soldiers Memorial Hospital Board Award of Excellence, and the 2016 OSMH Medical Advisory Committee Physician Leadership Award. On the regional level, she has worked with the LHIN at the Maternal Newborn Child and Youth working group and was chair for the Connection Forum. Dr. Gordon has been described as a pillar of excellence in the community and region, a role model and an expert clinician.


The successful candidate:

  • is a paediatrician who is primarily community-based.
  • provides exemplary paediatric care in the community.
  • is involved in community paediatrics outside his/her office perhaps in a community of special needs such as street youth, drug rehabilitation, promoting healthy living within the school environment etc.
  • devotes some of his/her time and energy promoting community paediatrics either through involvement in local or national community paediatric groups or through involvement with government agencies to promote the health and welfare of children and adolescents in the community setting.
  • is involved in the academic aspects of community paediatrics, either through teaching, research or involvement in a university department of paediatrics.
  • is of a calibre that his/her colleagues recognize, in this recipient, a role model for a community paediatrician.

Current section executives are not eligible for nomination and cannot nominate candidates while serving their terms.


  • Two letters of nomination/support from two members of the Community Paediatrics Section describing the nominee’s contribution to community paediatrics, emphasizing this person’s contribution to the welfare of children in the community, is critical to the nomination.
  • A copy of the nominee’s updated curriculum vitae should be provided (limited to 5 pages).
  • Maximum of two pages of additional documents

Submit your nominations using the Submit Nomination button.

Past recipients


Dr. Aven Poynter


Dr. Rosemary Moodie


Dr. Hasmukhlal Rajani


Dr. Anthony Ford-Jones


Dr. Joseph Madden


Dr. David Wong


Dr. Denis Leduc


Dr. Moshe Ipp & Dr. Gary Smith


Dr. Andrew Lynk


Dr. Umesh Rayar


Dr. Allen Ciastko


Dr. Barrett Adams


Dr. Bill James, Dr. Lee Stickles

Last updated: May 24 2018