Skip to Content
Canadian Paediatric Society

Danielle Grenier Member Recognition Award

The Canadian Paediatric Society would not function without the work and dedication of its many volunteer members. 

Each year, more than 100 members volunteer their time on committees, section executives and the Board of Directors. Many more serve as spokespeople, peer reviewers and liaisons with other organizations. 

To recognize outstanding contributions, the CPS has established the CPS Member Recognition Award. 

Nominations are solicited from the Board of Directors and CPS staff. The winner is chosen by the Membership Subcommittee. The award is presented during the CPS annual conference. Current voting members of the board of directors are not eligible.

For more information on the Member Recognition Award, contact


Current recipient(s): Drs. Jean-Yves Frappier and Douglas McMillan

Drs. Jean-Yves Frappier and Douglas McMillan

Drs. Doug McMillan (Halifax, N.S.) and Jean-Yves Frappier (Montreal, Que.) receive the Danielle Grenier Member Recognition Award for 3 years of commitment and unquantifiable hours of work to ensure the success of the International Pediatric Congress in Vancouver, co-hosted by the CPS in August 2016. Both have already been involved in major activities of the CPS, either with its committees or as past presidents. Dr. McMillan – in his role as Congress President – and Dr. Frappier – as Scientific Committee Chair – planned and led an exceptional educational program. Nearly 3,000 participants from 162 member countries and organizations shared their expertise, commitment and vision over 6 days. The program featured 9 plenaries, more than 50 concurrent sessions, 25 “meet the experts” events and 12 pre-conference workshops, with many delegates reporting later that it was the best IPC gathering ever. They managed all this despite inevitable logistical challenges and the demands of their regular jobs: Dr. McMillan with the IWK Health Centre and Dalhousie University, and Dr. Frappier with St. Justine Hospital and the University of Montreal.

This award is named and given in honour of Dr. Danielle Grenier, a leader in paediatrics who passed away in 2014. In her working life and through her brilliant and positive presence, she shaped many areas of child and youth care over the years.  An exceptional clinician, she trained locally and practiced with her husband, Dr. Luc Charette, in the Ottawa-Gatineau area, caring for two generations of children. But her influence extended all across Canada, and beyond. In her tireless work as Director of Medical Affairs for the CPS (1994 to 2014), she helped to guide best practice. She was a prolific contributor to Paediatrics & Child Health and to several important books, most recently as co-editor of Well Beings: A Guide to Health in Child Care. Dr. Grenier was an instructor and mentor who nurtured the CPS Residents Section and, most recently, collaborated in developing the Education Program for Immunization Competencies (EPIC). She was an active and outspoken advocate on countless child and youth health issues, both as a frequent spokesperson for the CPS and a long-time member of the Quebec Human Rights Commission. Her work with the Canadian Paediatric Surveillance Program since its founding in 1996 was widely recognized at home and internationally.


Past recipients


Dr. Mark Awuku


Dr. Dorothy Moore and Dr. Joan Robinson, for outstanding vaccine advocacy in print, in committee and in the media.


Dr. Tony Barozzino and Dr. Chuck Hui are co-editors-in-chief of Caring for Kids New to Canada (, an online bilingual resource launched in April 2013 for health professionals working with immigrant and refugee children, youth, and families.


Dr. Debra Andrews and Dr. William Mahoney for their outstanding work co-editing the 2012 revision of Children with School Problems: A Physician’s Manual.


Dr. Claire Leblanc of Montreal for her tireless promotion of physical activity and obesity prevention.


Dr. Dorothy Moore of Quebec for her role in developing CPS position statements, publications, and information for families and caregivers.


Dr. Robert Bortolussi of Nova Scotia for his exceptional leadership during the 2009 H1N1 influenza pandemic.


Drs. Danielle Grenier and Denis Leduc of Quebec for their work as co-editors of Well Beings: A Guide to Health in Child Care (3rd edition).


Dr. Nalini Singhal of Alberta for her work with the Neonatal Resuscitation Program.


Dr. Alyson Shaw of Ontario for promoting literacy and for her work with the Read, Speak, Sing program.


Dr. Jenn Brenner of Alberta for her work with Healthy Child Uganda


Dr. Kent Saylor of Quebec for his work on the CPS First Nations and Inuit Health Committee and his involvement with Many Hands, One


Dr. Susan Bennett of Ontario for creating the new child and youth maltreatment section and for her efforts in recruiting new members.

Last updated: Jul 12 2017