Skip to Content
Canadian Paediatric Society

Anna Jarvis Paediatric Emergency Medicine Teaching Award

The Paediatric Emergency Medicine Section established the Anna Jarvis Paediatric Emergency Medicine Teaching Award in 2010 to recognize an individual in the field of paediatric emergency medicine who has been identified as an exceptional educator at all levels - undergraduate, postgraduate, continuing education.

The award is presented during the CPS Annual Conference during the section’s programming and the recipient receives a commemorative plaque and a cash award of $500.

Awarded every other year, the next award will be presented in 2018.


Current recipient(s): Dr. Vincent Grant

Dr. Vincent Grant

Dr. Vincent Grant (Calgary, Alta.) receives the Anna Jarvis Paediatric Emergency Medicine Teaching Award for outstanding work in simulation-based education, experiential learning and academic mentorship, and for helping to expand simulation-based learning in Canada and abroad. A paediatric emergency medicine physician at the Alberta Children’s Hospital and associate professor of paediatrics at the University of Calgary, Dr. Grant was recruited in 2005 to lead a new simulation initiative. He is medical director for the KidSIM Pediatric Simulation program at the Alberta Children’s Hospital, the largest and busiest paediatric simulation training facility in North America. Dr. Grant is a mindful and passionate teacher at every level. He was founding chair of the Canadian Paediatric Simulation Network, which collaborates and advocates for simulation-based education and research in Canada and beyond. His simulation and debriefing skills are recognized around the world, while his knowledge and mentorship in teaching and feedback methods are actively sought by clinical academic colleagues both here and abroad. With passion, commitment and excellence, Dr. Grant has helped to create and advance simulation as an essential component of medical education.

About Dr. Anna Jarvis

Dr. Anna Jarvis has trained and worked across Ontario for most of her career. She has held a succession of academic appointments at the University of Toronto over more than 30 years, and clinical positions at hospitals including The Hospital for Sick Children and Credit Valley Hospital. In the last ten years, she has begun assuming a more active role in student development at the Faculty of Medicine, where she has been associate dean since 2006. She was an active member of the national task force that led to the accreditation of paediatric emergency medicine (PEM) at the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada; she also took part in the development of PEM as an independent subspecialty.

Dr. Jarvis has received a host of teaching awards, with trainees now working on all continents as leaders in their departments, divisions or research fields.



The candidate must:

  • Be recognized by trainees of all levels (medical student, residents and fellows) to be an excellent educator.
  • Be recognized by colleagues as an excellent educator.
  • Have taught in a spectrum of different learning environments (e.g. divisional lectures, conference based workshops, simulation, outreach PALS/APLS courses, plenary lectures at large conferences, etc.).
  • Have shown excellence in education at the local, provincial and national level by being a sought after speaker for conferences and CME events.
  • Have shown excellence in education at the international level by speaking at multiple international conferences/meetings.

Current section executives are not eligible for nomination and cannot nominate candidates while serving their terms.



Submissions must include:

  • Three letters of support (Maximum 2 pages each) from:
    • A current paediatric emergency medicine colleague who is a CPS member.
    • A current non-paediatric emergency medicine colleague (e.g. family physician, adult emergency physician).
    • Former trainees – medical students, resident, fellows.
  • A copy of the nominee’s updated curriculum vitae. Maximum 3 pages.

Submit your nominations using the Submit Nomination button.

This award is sponsored by the Paediatric Emergency Medicine Section.


Past recipients


Dr. Gina Neto


Dr. David McGillivray

Last updated: Jul 12 2017