Young Investigator Award

Formerly known as the CPS Research Award, the award was established in 1999 and recognizes basic or clinical research accomplishments of a young investigator in fields that benefit child and youth health.

The award is presented during the CPS Annual Conference. The recipient is awarded a commemorative plaque, cash prize and complimentary CPS membership for one year. 

Awarded every other year, the next award will be presented in 2017.

Dr. Amanda Newton

Current recipient(s): Dr. Amanda Newton

Dr. Amanda Newton is the 2015 Young Investigator Award winner, which accomplishments of a young researcher in fields that benefit child and youth health. Dr. Newton is a national leader in establishing research evidence to improve mental health care and outcomes for children who are acutely mentally ill.


Nominees should be a MD and/or a PhD.  They should be less than 40 years old on the first day of the CPS Annual Conference at which the award is presented or be within 7 years of their first faculty appointment in Canada. The recipient should also be a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant and hold an appointment at a Canadian university, hospital or research institute.

The Awards Committee will judge candidates based on:

  • The focus of the research on an identifiable theme
  • The research has a clear current or future impact on research, practice and policy.


Submissions must include:

  • Letter of support from a CPS member, emphasizing the originality and significance of the scientific accomplishments of the candidate and highlighting the three or four most important publications of the candidate. Maximum 3 pages.
  • Updated curriculum vitae for the candidate. 

Submit your nominations using the Submit Nomination button.

Sponsored by McMaster University Department of Pediatrics.

Past recipients

2013 Dr. Jonathon Maguire
2012 Dr. Ellyanne Ratcliffe
2011 Dr. Geoff Ball
2009 Dr. Constantin Polychronakos
2008 Dr. Berge A. Minassian
2007 Dr. Bernard Thébaud
2006 Dr. Michael Kramer
2005 Dr. Robert Bortolussi, Dr. David Byers
2004 Dr. Norman Rosenblum
2003 Dr. Tim Oberlander
2002 Dr. Sylvain Chemtob
2001 Dr. Shoo K. Lee
2000 Dr. Anthony Chan

Submit your nomination

Last updated: Sep 8 2016