Noni MacDonald Award

Established in 2004, the Noni MacDonald Award is given annually in honour of the founding editor of Paediatrics & Child Health, the peer-reviewed journal of the Canadian Paediatric Society. It recognizes an author(s) whose article, published in the journal during the nomination year, has positively affected paediatrics, such as by raising awareness of an issue, presenting new scientific research, or instigating or potentially instigating change.

The recipient is awarded a Canadian work of art during the CPS Annual General Meeting in June.

Current recipient(s): Sherri Lynne Katz MD, et al

Paediatric sleep resources in Canada: The scope of the problem 

The Noni MacDonald Award recognizes an article published in Paediatrics & Child Health that has positively affected paediatric medicine.

This year’s award goes to Paediatric sleep resources in Canada: The scope of the problem, which looks at results from a Canadian Pediatric Sleep Network survey about physician and diagnostic testing resources for sleep- disordered breathing in Canadian children. The authors found a lack of resources and services for paediatric sleep-disordered breathing across the country, including major geographical disparities.

Lead author Dr. Sherri Katz is a paediatric respirologist and Director of the Sleep Laboratory at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario, as well as an Assistant Professor of Medicine at the University of Ottawa. She is a Clinical Investigator at the Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario Research Institute. She attended medical school at McGill University and did her residency training in paediatrics, as well as fellowship training in paediatric respirology and paediatric sleep medicine at Sick Kids in Toronto. She then completed a Master’s of Science and the Clinician-Investigator Program of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, at the University of Toronto. Dr. Katz has been on staff at CHEO since September 2003. Her clinical interests include complex respiratory care, sleep disordered breathing, respiratory aspects of chronic diseases and technology dependent children. She is the principal investigator of several research studies evaluating respiratory technologies, including non-invasive ventilation and lung volume recruitment, in children with chronic diseases. She is studying neck circumference as a screening tool for obstructive sleep apnea in children, in order to assist with prioritization of those awaiting polysomnography, which is a scarce resource. She is also a wife and proud mom of two daughters.

Dr. Katz is accepting the award on behalf of her co-authors: Manisha Witmans MD (Edmonton), Nicholas Barrowman PhD (Ottawa), Lynda Hoey (Ottawa), Santana Su (Ottawa), Deepti Reddy MS (Ottawa), and Indra Narang MBBCH MD (Toronto).

About Dr. Noni MacDonald

Dr. Noni MacDonald has had a distinguished career in paediatric medicine and is a tireless advocate for the health and well-being of children and youth. She has held several university and hospital appointments, published extensively, garnered generous research support over many years, and contributes her expertise to numerous federal and provincial regulatory bodies. Dr. MacDonald is the founding editor of Paediatrics & Child Health and remains its editor-in-chief. She is firmly committed to the journal’s mission to advocate for the health of all children and youth in Canada and to bring the best research and information to their health care providers.


  • Nominee(s) must have published an article in Paediatrics & Child Health in the previous year.
  • The article published must have contributed to changes in policy or practice that have improved, or have the potential to improve, the health of children and/or youth.
  • A selection panel will rate each nomination on these criteria:
    • significance of contribution,
    • importance of subject or problem,
    • quality of presentation.
  • Nominees need not be CPS members.
  • Members of the following groups are not eligible for the award:
    • Paediatrics & Child Health Editorial Board
    • CPS Board of Directors
    • CPS Awards Committee


  • A letter of support from the nominator clearly describing this contribution using the criteria listed above. Maximum three pages.

Submit your nominations using the Submit Nomination button.

This award is sponsored by Pulsus Group Inc.

Past recipients

2014 Sarah E. Lawrence MD, et al
2013 Kristy Wittmeier PhD and Dr. Brandy Wicklow
2012 Dr. Moshe Ipp and Dr. Anna Taddio
2011 Dr. Ziad Solh and Dr. Kristi Adamo PhD
2010 Dr. Daniel Trefler
2009 Dr. Robert Harrison
2008 Rita Paul Sen-Gupta, Margaret L. de Wit and Dr. David McKeown
2007 Drs. Susan Rvachew and Robert Savage
2006 Dr. Harvey Guyda
2005 Dr. Alice Chan-Yip

Submit your nomination

Last updated: Jun 2 2015